Knight Templar (Cavalier/Cleric)

While most knightly orders are concerned with honor and noble combat, certain cavaliers seek a more divine path and align themselves with a temple and deity most appropriate to their outlook. Knight templars are servants of a higher power, roaming the lands in search of the devout, while removing those who seek to weaken or destroy the faith. While they are not solely a militant arm of the church, knight templars can deal a crushing blow in the heat of battle, or channel their faith into divine spells or healing energies. Though not as heavily armored as other cavaliers, the knight templar has their own way of ensuring victory in battle and the pursuits of the faith. (Original Concept by Byrdology)

Primary: Cavalier.

Secondary: Cleric.

Alignment: Any.

Hit Dice: d10.

Bonus Skills and Ranks: The knight templar selects three cleric skills to add to his class skills in addition to the normal cavalier class skills. The knight templar gains a number of ranks at each level equal to 4 + Int modifier.

Weapon and Armor Proficiency: The knight templar is proficient with all simple and martial weapons, with light and medium armor, and with shields (except tower shields).

Knightly Devotion (Sp): Beginning at 1st level, a knight templar can cast a small number of divine spells as a spell-like ability. The knight templar must select a domain that belongs to his deity, but gains no school powers. A knight templar’s selection of knightly devotion spells is limited to those from his domain. A knight templar can cast the 1st–level spell from his domain his 1st–level devotion.

At 5th level, a knight templar can cast the 2nd–level spell from his domain as his 2nd–level devotion.

At 9th level, a knight templar can cast the 3rd–level spell from his domain as his 3rd level devotion.

At 13th level, a knight templar can cast the 4th–level spell from his domain as his 4th level devotion.

At 17th level, a knight templar can cast the 5th–level spell from his domain as his 5th level devotion.

When casting a 1st–, 2nd–, or 3rd–level devotion spell, the knight templar expends one daily use of his knightly devotion ability, while casting a 4th– or 5th–level devotion spells expends two daily uses of his knightly devotion ability. A knight templar can use his 1st–level or higher knightly devotion a number of times per day equal to 1/2 his knight templar level. A knight templar has a caster level equal to his knight templar level. This ability replaces tactician, banner, greater tactician, greater banner, and master tactician.

Templar’s Challenge (Su): At 1st level, a knight templar gains the cleric’s channel energy ability, except that the amount of damage dealt is equal to 1d6 points of damage plus 1d6 points of damage for every three templar levels beyond 1st (2d6 at 4th, 3d6 at 7th, and so on) to a maximum of 7d6 at 19th level.