Dragon Slayer

Dragon slayers come from all walks of life, from all cultures and societies. They may be poor or wealthy, strong or wise, good or evil, skilled with blade or spell. However, all dragonslayers share a singular courage and strength of heart—a necessary commodity in their line of work. Characters of any class may pursue the dragon slayer prestige class, as long as they meet the prerequisites. While fighters, barbarians, and paladins enjoy the class’s increased combat prowess against these powerful enemies, sorcerers, clerics, wizards, and druids can continue to improve their spellcasting ability while gaining new powers suitable for use in battling dragons. Regardless of their origins, dragon slayers are fearsome foes that can make even the most unshakable of dragons to quake in fear.


To qualify to become a dragon slayer, a character must fulfill all of the following criteria.

Alignment: Any.

Base Attack Bonus: +6.

Feats: Iron Will.

Languages: Draconic.

Special: The dragon slayer must have experienced great loss or near death at the hands of a dragon type creature. 

Class Skills

The dragon slayer’s class skills (and the key abilities for each skill) are Acrobatics (Dex), Bluff (Cha), Climb (Str), Craft (Int), Handle Animal (Cha), Intimidate (Cha), Knowledge (arcana), Knowledge (dungeoneering) (Int), Knowledge (geography) (Int), Perception (Wis), Profession (Wis), Ride (Dex), Sense Motive (Wis), Spellcraft (Int), Survival(Wis), and Swim (Str).

Skill Ranks per Level: 4 + Int modifier.

Class Features

The dragon slayer has the following class features.

Weapon and Armor Proficiency

The dragon slayer gains no additional weapon or armor proficiency.


At the indicated levels, a dragon slayer gains new spells per day as if he had also gained a level in a spellcasting class he belonged to before adding the prestige class. He does not, however, gain other benefits a character of that class would have gained, except for additional spells per day, spells known (if he is a spontaneous spellcaster), and an increased effective level of spellcasting. If a character had more than one spellcasting class before becoming a dragon slayer, he must decide to which class he adds the new level for purposes of determining spells per day.

Aura of Courage (Su)

At 1st level, a dragon slayer is immune to fear (magical or otherwise). Each ally within 10 feet of him gains a +4 morale bonus on saving throws against fear effects. This ability functions only while the dragon