Shadow's Light (Ninja/Paladin)

(Original Concept by Thomas, A)

Primary Class: Ninja.

Secondary Class: Paladin.

Alignment: Any good.

Hit Dice: d8.

Bonus Skills and Ranks: The shadow’s light may select three paladin skills to add to her class skills in addition to the normal ninja class skills. The shadow’s light gains a number of ranks at each level equal to 6 + Int modifier.

Weapon and Armor Proficiency: The shadow’s light is proficient with all simple and martial weapons, plus the kama, katana, kusarigama, nunchaku, sai, shuriken, siangham, and wakizashi. The shadow’s light is proficient with light armor, but not with shields.

Code of Light: The shadow’s light must follow the three pillars of Daikomyo–to guard and protect all light, to never spread darkness, and to maintain the light’s purity. To maintain these pillars, the shadow’s light must never extinguish a source of light (nonmagical or otherwise), unless it would cause harm to the surrounding area, use a spell, ability, or item that was crafted with spells from the darkness subschool, or willingly commit an evil act. For example, a shadow’s light could extinguish a bonfire or flaming sphere spell about to burn a grain field or torch a building, but she could not end a light spell to hide herself from her enemies. If she does so, she loses all class features except proficiencies. She may not progress any further in levels as a shadow’s light. She regains her abilities and advancement potential if she atones for her violations (see atonement), as appropriate.

Detect Evil (Sp): A shadow’s light gains the paladin’s detect evil ability. This ability replaces poison use.

Lumens Pool (Su): At 2nd level, a shadow’s light gains a pool of lumen points, supernatural energy she can use to accomplish amazing feats. The number of points in the shadow’s light’s lumen pool is equal to 1/2 her shadow’s light level + her Charisma modifier. As long as she has at least 1 point in her lumen pool, she can maintain a 30–foot aura around her that increases the illumination level in the area (whether from a torch, candle, or spell) by one step; normal light increases to bright light, dim light to normal light, darkness to dim light. If an outsider with the evil subtype, an evil-aligned aberration, or an undead creature is in range of the aura and the light level is “bright light”, they are blinded until they move out of the aura’s area. At 10th level, the aura’s area increases to 60 feet.

By spending 1 point from her lumen pool, a shadow’s light can heal wounds (her own or those of others) by touch